Club Dinner 2013

The club dinner of 2013 was held in Sedgefield Parish Hall with guests Peter Barron , Editor of the Northern Echo, Mel Carr, Mayor of Sedgefield and John Stacey, England Athletics who all said a few words in praise of the club and made two awards each.  The award winners were; Marie Walker, Club Member of the Year (for the thrid time); Gary Thwaites, Club Runner of the Year; Kevin Archbold, Volunteer of the Year; Matthew Jones, Individual Athletic Performance of the Year; David Round, Newcomer of the Year; Alan Tait, Supporter of the Year.  The club also made a special presentation to Club Chair and Founder Ean Parsons in recognition of his on-going contribution to the the club.  There was a record list of nominations for awards and of votes cast; a list of the nominations is below.


Club Dinner 2012

The 2012 dinner was held on Thursday 29 November at Sedgefield Racecourse. Guest speaker was Olympian Alison Curbishley who talked about her experience the 2012 London Olympics. Funds were raised for the club as well as Alison’s partner Steve Cram’s charity, COCO. Club member of the year went to Jane Spink, Runner of the Year was Diane Baines and Volunteer of the Year was Tim Dredge.

Club Dinner 2011

Our club dinner in 2011 was held at the Hardwick Arms in Sedgefield.  Guest speaker was Olympic Marathon Bronze Medallist and current English marathon record holder, Charlie Spedding who comes originally from Ferryhill.  Charlie provided us with a mementous evening and made awards to Diane Baines for Club Member of the Year and Volunteer of the Year and to Jason ‘Ferryhill Flyer’ Catterall for Club Runner of the Year.